Overwatch League Playoffs 2020 details finally revealed

Blizzard just revealed many details on the upcoming Overwatch League Playoffs 2020. For the first time in its history, this tournament will be held online. It was a hard decision to make considering the fans’ devotion but the pandemic made it quite mandatory. As it will be the first OWL Playoffs going online, fans were kept in the dark as to what the format will look like until now. Starting on September 3, twenty teams from North American and Asia Pacific are going to face each other to crown a team that will join the San Francisco Shock and the London Spitfire in history.

Overwatch League Playoffs 2020

Overwatch League Playoffs 2020 features two different brackets, one for NA and the other for APAC. The North American bracket includes thirteen teams, with among them some of the best teams in the world:

  • Boston Uprising
  • Dallas Fuel
  • Florida Mayhem
  • Houston Outlaws
  • Los Angeles Gladiators
  • Los Angeles Valiant
  • Paris Eternal
  • Philadelphia Fusion
  • San Francisco Shock
  • Toronto Defiant
  • Vancouver Titans
  • Washington Justice
  • Guangzhou Charge
  • Hangzhou Spark
  • London Spitfire
  • New York Excelsior
  • Shanghai Dragons
  • Seoul Dynasty

Final Four

These four teams will face each other in a double-elimination tournament, ending with the championship match. In order to make the final match as fair as possible, Blizzard decided to make the these teams play on the same server. As a result, North American teams will have to fly to Asia to participate in the final rounds.

The latest, most exciting esports news and stories.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store